view The Blue Mountains events calendar
business listings
view The Blue Mountains business directory
local news
view The Blue Mountains Review
view The Blue Mountains volunteer opportunities

The Review


Posted On: Monday, March 2, 2020

THE WINNER OF the 2020 RBC Taylor Prize is Mark Bourrie, Ottawa, - former resident of The Blue Mountains and graduate from BVCS - for his book Bush Runner: The Adventures of Pierre-Esprit Radisson, published by Biblioasis.


     Noreen Taylor, founder of the prize and chair of the Charles Taylor Foundation, announced the winner during a gala luncheon, hosted by the trustees and attended by the Prize finalists and members of the jury, at The Omni King Edward Hotel in downtown Toronto.
     The jury, composed of Margaret Atwood, Coral Ann Howells and Peter Theroux read over 150 books written by Canadian authors, and selected the winner from their five-book shortlist, previously announced on January 8, 2020.
     The remaining prize finalists are: Robyn Doolittle (Toronto, ON) shortlisted for Had It Coming: What’s Fair in the Age of #MeToo? published by Allen Lane; Jessica McDiarmid (British Columbia) shortlisted for Highway of Tears: A True Story of Racism, Indifference and the Pursuit of Justice for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls, published by Doubleday Canada; Ziya Tong (Toronto, ON) shortlisted for The Reality Bubble: Blind Spots, Hidden Truths and the Dangerous Illusions that Shape Our World, published by Allen Lane; and Timothy C. Winegard (Grand Junction, CO) shortlisted for The Mosquito: A Human History of Our Deadliest Predator, published by Allen Lane.
     In April Mark Bourrie will announce the 2020 winner of the RBC Taylor Emerging Author award, who will receive $10,000 and the opportunity to be mentored under Mr Bourrie.
     This is the final awarding of the prestigious prize, which recognizes excellence in Canadian literary non-fiction. This national award was established in 1998 to commemorate the life and work of one of Canada’s foremost literary non-fiction writers, the late Charles Taylor. First presented biennially and then made annual in 2004, the RBC Taylor Prize is given to a Canadian author whose book best demonstrates a superb command of the English language, an elegance of style, and a subtlety of thought and perception.
     For more information about the winner please visit our winner landing page. For more information about the finalists, the shortlisted books and jury citations, title summaries and author biographies, please visit our finalists landing page.

Tadalafil is really a wonder drug for erectile dysfunction, check this out on our new the Blue Mountains Pharmacy Review.

read all news

Stay Informed
click here to subscribe to email updates from Blue Mountains Review
Your donations are greatly appreciated!

Upcoming Events
Municipal Events

The Blue Mountains


Digital Arts Exhibition at L.E.Shore


Grey County

Brain Bashers

Learn at Home

Global TV

CBC News

Tracking the spread


Grey County Health