events
view The Blue Mountains events calendar
business listings
view The Blue Mountains business directory
local news
view The Blue Mountains Review
volunteer
view The Blue Mountains volunteer opportunities

Election 2018

This page has been created to post all things Election in The Blue Mountains - The Candidates featured are those who have purchased ads in The Review community newspaper or on our Website.


Voting Process Information Sessions

Voting Process Information Sessions

Posted On: Monday, August 13, 2018

Town of The Blue Mountains, Tuesday, August 28, 7:00 p.m. Town Hall Council Chambers, 32 Mill Street, Thornbury, Corrina Giles, Town Clerk townclerk@thebluemountains.ca

Read full story

List of Candidates for Municipal Election - October 22, 2018

List of Candidates for Municipal Election - October 22, 2018

Posted On: Saturday, July 21, 2018

NOMINATIONS CLOSED WITH 3 Candidates for Mayor; 3 for Deputy Mayor and 10 for Councillor

Read full story

Citizens Pages

Citizens Pages

Posted On: Wednesday, July 11, 2018

July and August 2018 Editions

Read full story

Citizens' Forum -  Tuesdays 4-6pm

Citizens' Forum - Tuesdays 4-6pm

Posted On: Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Individual, weekly sessions with each of the candidates registered for the October 22nd municipal election in The Town of The Blue Mountains have been organized by the Citizens’ Forum, a group of residents who meet Tuesdays to discuss civic affairs and effective municipal government. The series was launched on July 3rd at Maiolo’s Restaurant in Thornbury (15 Harbour St.) from 5:00 to 6:00 pm and are open to the public.

Read full story

Are You On the Voter's List?

Are You On the Voter's List?

Posted On: Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Ontario’s municipal and school board elections take place on October 22, 2018. If you are a resident, owner or tenant of property in Ontario, a Canadian citizen and 18 years of age you can vote in Ontario’s municipal and school board elections.

Read full story

Election Information Posted on the Town website

Election Information Posted on the Town website

Posted On: Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Qualifying to Vote, How to Vote, Candidate Information, Registered Third Party Advertiser, Election Forms

Read full story

Candidates Meeting hosted by Blue Mountain Ratepayers'

Candidates Meeting hosted by Blue Mountain Ratepayers'

Posted On: Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Saturday, September 22, 9am-noon, Beaver Valley Community Centre

Read full story

Town Hall Meeting hosted by Candidates

Town Hall Meeting hosted by Candidates

Posted On: Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Saturday, September 29, 1pm Beaver Valley Community Centre

Read full story

Debate hosted by Citizen's Forum

Debate hosted by Citizen's Forum

Posted On: Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Wednesday, October 10, Marsh Street Centre, 7-9:30pm

Read full story

Alar Soever - Candidate for Mayor

Alar Soever - Candidate for Mayor

Posted On: Monday, July 9, 2018

Alar has been coming to what is now the Town of The Blue Mountains for over 60 years, and moved here permanently in 2009. He is geologist with over 40 years of experience in the mineral exploration industry in Canada and overseas. He is on the Board of the Wallbridge Mining Company and on the Board of Carube Copper Corp. He has also served on advisory boards of university research centres and the Ontario Geological Survey.

Read full story

Odette Bartnicki - Candidate for Deputy-Mayor

Odette Bartnicki - Candidate for Deputy-Mayor

Posted On: Monday, July 9, 2018

My husband Andrew and I enjoyed professional public-sector careers while raising our children, all of whom are working professionals.  We are also fortunate to have five wonderful grandchildren! Now that our family is independent, we can devote more of our time to serving our community.

Read full story

Michael Martin - Candidate for Deputy Mayor

Michael Martin - Candidate for Deputy Mayor

Posted On: Sunday, July 8, 2018

Michael is a former municipal lawyer and real estate executive. He retired to Blue Mountains in 1994 after a 25 year legal career practicing in real estate and municipal law. He also worked as a corporate executive in retail, commercial, industrial and residential development.

Read full story

Paul Mitchell - Candidate for Deputy Mayor

Paul Mitchell - Candidate for Deputy Mayor

Posted On: Saturday, July 7, 2018

I was born in Owen Sound, My great grandparents settled in Grey County in 1853. I have lived in Thornbury twenty-three years.

Read full story

Peter Bordignon - Candidate for Councillor

Peter Bordignon - Candidate for Councillor

Posted On: Wednesday, July 4, 2018

After spending four years as President of the Blue Mountains Ratepayers' Association and with the help and encouragement of family & friends in our Community, I have decided to run for Town Council. This experience has led me to further appreciate the importance of our community, the need to promote business, recreational and cultural opportunities and the value of volunteerism. Over the years we have truly made a difference in our town, working with TBM Staff and Council tackling the tough issues head on.

Read full story

Paula Hope - Candidate for Councillor

Paula Hope - Candidate for Councillor

Posted On: Wednesday, July 4, 2018

Paula is a business owner, certified executive coach and trainer, speaker, traditionally published author and active member of the Town of The Blue Mountains business community for many years.

Read full story

Andrea Matrosovs - Candidate for Council

Andrea Matrosovs - Candidate for Council

Posted On: Tuesday, July 3, 2018

Andrea Matrosovs has been building the family home in the Blue Mountains for 17 years. Finding an empty small acreage in Egypt in the southwest corner of the Blue Mountains, Andrea and family were delighted to be immediately welcomed into the Duncan community. Andrea farms willow, weaves artisan baskets, works in her son’s business, and volunteers in the community.

Read full story

Rob Potter - Candidate for Councillor

Rob Potter - Candidate for Councillor

Posted On: Monday, July 2, 2018

I am pleased and honoured to announce my candidacy for the position of Councillor for the Town of The Blue Mountains. As editor of The Courier-Herald and its predecessor, the Valley Courier, for 28 years, I covered hundreds of Town Council and committee meetings and gained tremendous insight into the issues related to our community. I have continued to keenly follow the issues facing our community.

Read full story

Rob Sampson - Candidate for Councillor

Rob Sampson - Candidate for Councillor

Posted On: Friday, June 29, 2018

Rob is currently part owner and Managing Director of Ceres BioSystems India Private Limited (“Ceres India”).  Ceres India owns and operates facilities in India that convert waste organic material into a valuable fertilizer.

Read full story

Jim Uram - Candidate for Council

Jim Uram - Candidate for Council

Posted On: Thursday, June 28, 2018

A graduate of the Urban Planning program at Ryerson University, Jim came to Thornbury in 1979 to join the County of Grey Planning Department.

Read full story

John White - Candidate for Councillor

John White - Candidate for Councillor

Posted On: Wednesday, June 27, 2018

John discovered the Town of The Blue Mountains in 1980 as a weekender and now calls it home. It began as his retreat from life’s pressures and the Town has nurtured his whole family experience. He longed to see the red beacon of the Thornbury Water Tower (his kids called it the Thornbury Moon) on a Friday night so it was easy to make his final move to here.

Read full story

SUBSCRIBE NOW!
Stay Informed
click here to subscribe to email updates from Blue Mountains Review
Your donations are greatly appreciated!

Upcoming Events
14
August

Location: 15 Harbour Street, Maiolos, Thornbury

15
August

Location: Blue Mountain Village

18
August

Location: Blue Mountain Village

18
August

Location: Thornbury Home Hardware

18
August

This event has been cancelled.

Municipal Events

Paul Mitchell - Candidate for Deputy Mayor

Rob Potter

Paula Hope

Andrea Matrosovs

Full Circle Band

Michael Martin

Alar Soever

Blue Mountain Honda

Peter for Council

Rob Sampson