events
view The Blue Mountains events calendar
business listings
view The Blue Mountains business directory
local news
view The Blue Mountains Review
volunteer
view The Blue Mountains volunteer opportunities

Election 2018

This page has been created to post all things Election in The Blue Mountains - The Candidates featured are those who have purchased ads in The Review community newspaper or on our Website.


Candidates for The Municipal Election - October 12-22, 2018

Candidates for The Municipal Election - October 12-22, 2018

Posted On: Monday, August 20, 2018

NOMINATIONS CLOSED WITH 3 Candidates for Mayor; 3 for Deputy Mayor and 10 for Councillor

Read full story

Voting Process Information

Voting Process Information

Posted On: Monday, August 20, 2018

Internet and Telephone Voting Information Session, Tuesday September 11, 7-8 at The L E Shore Library, Contact: Town Clerk Corrina Giles, 519-599-3131 ext 232

Read full story

Candidates Meeting hosted by Blue Mountains Chamber of Commerce

Candidates Meeting hosted by Blue Mountains Chamber of Commerce

Posted On: Monday, August 20, 2018

Wednesday September 19th at 6pm, Marsh Street Centre, Clarksburg

Read full story

Candidates Meeting hosted by Blue Mountain Village Assoc

Candidates Meeting hosted by Blue Mountain Village Assoc

Posted On: Friday, August 17, 2018

September 29th, 9am   Blue Mountain Inn

Read full story

Debate hosted by Citizen's Forum

Debate hosted by Citizen's Forum

Posted On: Thursday, August 16, 2018

Wednesday, October 10, Marsh Street Centre, 7-9:30pm

Read full story

Candidates Comment on Seguin Issue

Candidates Comment on Seguin Issue

Posted On: Thursday, August 16, 2018

After copies of a document called The Facts of the Saga July 21 (written by anonymous at this time) were circulated some Candidates felt that the document had errors and omissions. An open letter to be sent to the Community was drafted and endorsed by 10 of the 16 candidates. However, the letter was sent to some media before there was an agreement to have it released. The 10 who signed in favour want to change the tone on Council and the upcoming election by bringing closure to the Michael Seguin issue.

Read full story

Citizens Pages

Citizens Pages

Posted On: Wednesday, July 11, 2018

July, August, September and October Editions

Read full story

Alar Soever - Candidate for Mayor

Alar Soever - Candidate for Mayor

Posted On: Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Alar has been coming to what is now the Town of The Blue Mountains for over 60 years, and moved here permanently in 2009. He is geologist with over 40 years of experience in the mineral exploration industry in Canada and overseas. He is on the Board of the Wallbridge Mining Company and on the Board of Carube Copper Corp. He has also served on advisory boards of university research centres and the Ontario Geological Survey.

Read full story

David Wilding Davies - Candidate for Mayor

David Wilding Davies - Candidate for Mayor

Posted On: Tuesday, July 10, 2018

"I am very grateful for the Town of The Blue Mountains. It has been a great place to raise my children, start a business, and enjoy my recreation time. I am passionate about where we live and hope to have a positive influence on our community through municipal politics."

Read full story

Odette Bartnicki - Candidate for Deputy-Mayor

Odette Bartnicki - Candidate for Deputy-Mayor

Posted On: Monday, July 9, 2018

My husband Andrew and I enjoyed professional public-sector careers while raising our children, all of whom are working professionals.  We are also fortunate to have five wonderful grandchildren! Now that our family is independent, we can devote more of our time to serving our community.

Read full story

Michael Martin - Candidate for Deputy Mayor

Michael Martin - Candidate for Deputy Mayor

Posted On: Sunday, July 8, 2018

Michael is a former municipal lawyer and real estate executive. He retired to Blue Mountains in 1994 after a 25 year legal career practicing in real estate and municipal law. He also worked as a corporate executive in retail, commercial, industrial and residential development.

Read full story

Paul Mitchell - Candidate for Deputy Mayor

Paul Mitchell - Candidate for Deputy Mayor

Posted On: Saturday, July 7, 2018

I was born in Owen Sound, My great grandparents settled in Grey County in 1853. I have lived in Thornbury twenty-three years.

Read full story

Peter Bordignon - Candidate for Councillor

Peter Bordignon - Candidate for Councillor

Posted On: Wednesday, July 4, 2018

After spending four years as President of the Blue Mountains Ratepayers' Association and with the help and encouragement of family & friends in our Community, I have decided to run for Town Council. This experience has led me to further appreciate the importance of our community, the need to promote business, recreational and cultural opportunities and the value of volunteerism. Over the years we have truly made a difference in our town, working with TBM Staff and Council tackling the tough issues head on.

Read full story

Paula Hope - Candidate for Councillor

Paula Hope - Candidate for Councillor

Posted On: Wednesday, July 4, 2018

Paula is a business owner, certified executive coach and trainer, speaker, traditionally published author and active member of the Town of The Blue Mountains business community for many years.

Read full story

Andrea Matrosovs - Candidate for Council

Andrea Matrosovs - Candidate for Council

Posted On: Tuesday, July 3, 2018

Andrea Matrosovs has been building the family home in the Blue Mountains for 17 years. Finding an empty small acreage in Egypt in the southwest corner of the Blue Mountains, Andrea and family were delighted to be immediately welcomed into the Duncan community. Andrea farms willow, weaves artisan baskets, works in her son’s business, and volunteers in the community.

Read full story

Terrence Pittet - Candidate for Council

Terrence Pittet - Candidate for Council

Posted On: Tuesday, July 3, 2018

Read full story

June Porter - Candidate for Council

June Porter - Candidate for Council

Posted On: Tuesday, July 3, 2018

Read full story

Rob Potter - Candidate for Councillor

Rob Potter - Candidate for Councillor

Posted On: Monday, July 2, 2018

I am pleased and honoured to announce my candidacy for the position of Councillor for the Town of The Blue Mountains. As editor of The Courier-Herald and its predecessor, the Valley Courier, for 28 years, I covered hundreds of Town Council and committee meetings and gained tremendous insight into the issues related to our community. I have continued to keenly follow the issues facing our community.

Read full story

Rob Sampson - Candidate for Councillor

Rob Sampson - Candidate for Councillor

Posted On: Friday, June 29, 2018

Rob is currently part owner and Managing Director of Ceres BioSystems India Private Limited (“Ceres India”).  Ceres India owns and operates facilities in India that convert waste organic material into a valuable fertilizer.

Read full story

Jim Uram - Candidate for Council

Jim Uram - Candidate for Council

Posted On: Thursday, June 28, 2018

A graduate of the Urban Planning program at Ryerson University, Jim came to Thornbury in 1979 to join the County of Grey Planning Department.

Read full story

John White - Candidate for Councillor

John White - Candidate for Councillor

Posted On: Wednesday, June 27, 2018

John discovered the Town of The Blue Mountains in 1980 as a weekender and now calls it home. It began as his retreat from life’s pressures and the Town has nurtured his whole family experience. He longed to see the red beacon of the Thornbury Water Tower (his kids called it the Thornbury Moon) on a Friday night so it was easy to make his final move to here.

Read full story

SUBSCRIBE NOW!
Stay Informed
click here to subscribe to email updates from Blue Mountains Review
Your donations are greatly appreciated!

Upcoming Events
24
October

Location: Marsh Street Centre Clarksburg

26
October

Location: Craigleith Heritage Depot - 113 Lakeshore Rd. East, The Blue Mountains

26
October

Location: Beaver Valley Arena

26
October

Location: Marsh Street Centre Clarksburg

27
October

Location: Craigleith Heritage Depot

27
October

Location: Beaver Valley Arena

Municipal Events

Paul Mitchell - Candidate for Deputy Mayor

Michael Martin

June Porter

Peter for Council

David Wilding Davies

Rob Sampson

Jim Uram

Andrea Matrosovs

John White

Rob Potter

Odette Bartnicki - Candidate for Deputy-Mayor

Alar Soever

Terrence Pittet - Candidate for Council